1. Welcome to VRCat! Please note that this message board is not related to VRChat in any official manner. It is run entirely by the community, and moderated by the community. Any content present has not been reviewed by VRChat moderators or staff. Your use of these forums implies understanding of this message. Thanks!
    Dismiss Notice

Dynamic bones working only on unity

Discussion in 'Avatars' started by SrPhil, May 6, 2018.

  1. SrPhil

    SrPhil New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    SrPhil
    The whole physics from dynamic bones is not working inside the game, but on unity is working fine.
    Someone know why this is happening?

    I will leave the avatar's inspector below
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 SrPhil, May 6, 2018
    Last edited: May 6, 2018
  2. Ddm5

    Ddm5 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    VRChat:
    Hatsune Miku.
    Do you have the Dynamic bone script on the avatar itself and not setup on the bone on the armature?
     
    SrPhil likes this.
  3. SrPhil

    SrPhil New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    SrPhil
    Exactly, is that causing this issue?
     
  4. Ddm5

    Ddm5 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    VRChat:
    Hatsune Miku.
    You need to put the script on the hips for instance, exclude the legs and spine (For a skirt setup), this is the only way to get it to work. Place it on the head for the hair, etc.
     
    SrPhil likes this.
  5. SrPhil

    SrPhil New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    SrPhil
    Thank you so much!! it worked!!
     
  6. AlexTF

    AlexTF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    VRChat:
    AlexTF
    I've been having the same issue, but nothing seems to be working. I've placed the script in so many different locations with so many different roots , but it hasn't worked once in game. Could I please get some help? I've spent so much time on this...
     
  7. Ddm5

    Ddm5 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    VRChat:
    Hatsune Miku.
    All you have to do is put the dynamic bone script on the bone that you want the be dynamic. If you want hair to be dynamic you put the script on the head bone and then you exclude the eyes and other uneeded parts, that'll give the same values for everything that isn't excluded from the heads script. If you want individual values for hair parts for instance just put it on the specific hair pieces for examples. make sure you add the root bone to the script. If you put the script on the head bone you need to put the head in the root bone.
     
  8. AlexTF

    AlexTF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    VRChat:
    AlexTF
    I've tried that. Even with premade avatars it doesn't seem to work anymore. I'm using an unofficial version of Dynamic bones right now, though I did get it to work in the past. I've tried placing the script on so many different bones that I don't think there's anything I haven't tried.


    EDIT: Made a new unity project, it's working now.
     
    #8 AlexTF, Sep 22, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2018
    Ddm5 likes this.
  9. SupraLP

    SupraLP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    SupraLP
    I'm having the same problem, may I ask, what other Plugins you had installed in that unity project? @AlexTF
    I want to inspect that behavior and find the actual reason.
     
  10. Lolita-Reishi

    Lolita-Reishi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    Lolita-Reishi
    I've been checking on this forum many times about the issue in the past and at my end, it is still not working in-game. I had this dynamic bone problem for around 5 months now with my recent avatars and I've tried all possible solutions to try to fix it. Works just fine in Unity 2017, but in the actual game? Stiff as a twig.

    Importing/Reimporting the asset
    Using different versions of the asset (including unofficial ones)
    Created new projects
    Have placed the script on the root bones and on other locations within the armature
    Messed around with the dynamic bones settings
    Asked other people and friends about advice and help but no avail
    Since VRChat has been switched to the 2017 version, even that doesn't fix this issue

    This is seriously giving me a headache in all these months and I feel very frustrated since other people can use the asset just fine with no problems. I really need a clear, straight solution to this, if anyone can provide it.

    Please, I really just want my current avatars to wiggle around like ragdolls in VRChat. Is that too much to ask for?
     
  11. SupraLP

    SupraLP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    SupraLP
    The problem apparently can be caused, when you move the DynamicBones folder into a different directory.

    At least this was the reason for my most recent project.
     
  12. Lolita-Reishi

    Lolita-Reishi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    Lolita-Reishi
    Wait really? Alright- maybe I'll reimport the asset and don't move the folder to a different location.

    EDIT: Are you serious. It's actually fucking working?? Godamn I must be very stupid- So the solution is to not move the dynamic bone asset within your unity project. Thank you @SupraLP !
     
    #12 Lolita-Reishi, Dec 12, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
  13. SupraLP

    SupraLP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    SupraLP
    Yeah... thats so dumb... i hope this was/is the issue for everybody and it can be resolved this easily.
    we should maybe report that behavior to the canny.