1. Welcome to VRCat! Please note that this message board is not related to VRChat in any official manner. It is run entirely by the community, and moderated by the community. Any content present has not been reviewed by VRChat moderators or staff. Your use of these forums implies understanding of this message. Thanks!
    Dismiss Notice

Avatars Material Combiner Blender Addon (2.0.3.2)

Discussion in 'Tutorials and Tools' started by shotariya, Aug 18, 2018.

  1. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    57
    This is great. Spread the word and share it. Avatar creators and my framerate counter will love it....
     
    shotariya likes this.
  2. WanderingYouth

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    8
    VRChat:
    Mizurahi
    Oh....my....god! Thank you for this!!!!
     
    shotariya likes this.
  3. Aurastyz

    Aurastyz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    VRChat:
    Lyrix
    I installed it 100% correctly. (CTRL + ALT + U)
    -Gives me an ERROR..
    And CATS is telling me that I have to install it again /SHRUG
     
    shotariya likes this.
  4. DTSX

    DTSX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Shot, I installed and ran the plugin as an Admin but it still shows the error. I just updated to the new blender version though. Would that be a problem?
     
    shotariya likes this.
  5. shotariya

    shotariya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    16
    VRChat:
    shotariya
    Hello, try the 2.0.3.2 update, did it fix it for you? and by the new version you mean 2.8? then it's not yet implemented for this
     
    #25 shotariya, Dec 8, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018
  6. AirGamer

    AirGamer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there a way to disable image compression, I'm seeing some noticeable degradation in image quality in the resulting atlas that I would rather avoid.
     
    shotariya likes this.
  7. shotariya

    shotariya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    16
    VRChat:
    shotariya
    After you click Continue, there's an option to compress image or not, also be sure that in unity you choose 8192 max size for the image, otherwise it will be resized and quality loss
     
    AirGamer likes this.
  8. AirGamer

    AirGamer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you

    For what it's worth, the Atlas panel in CATS (despite it using your addon) doesn't present this option, which is why I didn't see the missed it.
     
    shotariya likes this.
  9. Svelsien

    Svelsien New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    VRChat:
    Svelsien
    The newest version always show an error for me to restart blender no matter what i do.
    I lauched blender in amdin mode, any work around for it ?
     
  10. rebornhak

    rebornhak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    rebornhak
    So I just updated the plugin and when I click to save Save Atlas to it ask me where to save the file and afterwords my model turns pink and wont load the texture. I checked the folder where I told it to save and its not there, it's the same folder my model is in. I tried it again leaving the folder open and it shows it saving but when I try to open it I get the msg you do not have permission to view this file then it deletes its self. tried going back to the older version witch I didn't have this issues with and all i get is the button to update.
     
  11. shotariya

    shotariya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    16
    VRChat:
    shotariya
    Hello, try to run Blender As Administrator and combine, if it will not help click at "Window > Toggle System Console" on the top panel of Blender and take a screenshot of the output it gives and send it here.
     
  12. rebornhak

    rebornhak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    rebornhak
    running it in admin didn't change anything I also after seeing the system console I tried saving it to my main drive and got the same msg in the console. blender console.png
     
  13. shotariya

    shotariya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    16
    VRChat:
    shotariya
    Hm, try to combine through my addon panel and before the combine uncheck Compress combine image
     
  14. rebornhak

    rebornhak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    rebornhak
    Ok that worked
     
  15. Tupper

    Tupper The Strongest
    Forum Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    106
    VRChat:
    Tupper
    Hello Shotariya! I am trying to figure out your Multicombiner but cannot get it to work. I am unsure of the correct process.

    Could you provide a simple example guide?
     
    shotariya likes this.
  16. AirGamer

    AirGamer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've discovered a bug with the multi-combiner.

    The models hair (with is a unity chan recolour) gets inserted twice in the main atlas (due to UV bounds?)
    combined_image_0_9594698805.png
    However the normal texture specified in the multicombine step is a single texture stretched over the area of the two copies of the hair texture.
    combined_image_1_9594698805.png

    Both the hair texture and it's normal map are the same size.
     
    shotariya likes this.
  17. shotariya

    shotariya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    16
    VRChat:
    shotariya
    Hi, when you do multicombining, you get a list of images that would be combined, and you can add for each image new 'layers' that will combine as different atlases with the main atlas, you can add an image or a color to the layer. If there's any images with layers and some images without, then for this images that will be auto declared as empty layers. Currenly you can't do multicombining with materials that has only color.
    So in other words, you add for each image their "addition textures", and each existed layer will be combined as new atlas by width/height of main textures applied to materials.
     
    #37 shotariya, Dec 23, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2018
  18. ironminer888

    ironminer888 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    VRChat:
    ironminer888
    Hello. I'm writing to you to report a problem with your VRChat material combiner. Whenever I try to click on the box to initialize your plugin in Blender, either through the preferences menu or CATS' optimization menu, the program gives me an error, complaining that it has "no module named PIL." Could you help me?

    Here is the error log Blender provides:
    [​IMG]
     
  19. LegacyPanda

    LegacyPanda New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    VRChat:
    ~~
    Hi shotariya. Is there a new way to separate transparent mat from a new combined image? Like the old material combiner, you can change its combine ID.

    I'm pretty confused with the new GUI xd. Thankies
     
    shotariya likes this.
  20. shotariya

    shotariya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    16
    VRChat:
    shotariya
    Currently this is not yet implemented in the new version
     
    LegacyPanda likes this.