1. Hello, Guest! This forum is now read-only. Please move to the VRChat Ask Forums. This site may be eventually removed. Move your threads and content! If you wish to archive information, now's the time to do so. https://ask.vrchat.com/

Texture problems with my avatar

Discussion in 'Support' started by SnesySnas, Jan 10, 2018.

  1. Unyuho

    Unyuho Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    47
    VRChat:
    Unyuho
    Hmm, really strange.
    I just put in textures, then the first broccoli fbx and it worked normally.
    I could give you the files it created on my end(when i get home), so you could atleast start working on it.
    But you should really continue testing why it doesnt do it correctly and if it happens to other models.
     
  2. SnesySnas

    SnesySnas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    MMmh, i got an idea, how did you get the avatar to be in a T-Pose? when i rig it through Maximo it's never in a T-Pose, maybe that's the problem? somehow?
     
  3. Unyuho

    Unyuho Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    47
    VRChat:
    Unyuho
    uuuh, i just put in the fbx file to check if the textures were working.
    Didnt check anything else. then maybe i know where your problem lies.
    The rigged model, you download from mixamo lost all its textures values and thus there are none for unity to find.
    i suggest you google how you can add textures/materials on meshes, because my explanaition wouldnt be sufficient since i barely/never done that myself.
     
  4. SnesySnas

    SnesySnas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright i am trying on my side, but all googles tells me when i search for "how to add textures to meshes in blender" is how to add blender textures to cylinders or stuff like that
     
  5. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    Is it possible that there are at least 4 different skins for the model and thats why you have so many textures?
     
  6. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    upload_2018-1-11_16-19-12.png

    Use the FBX. I did nothing but drag and drop it in there!!!!
    I had to apply not a single mat or texture and it was even riggged.
     
    #26 Mr.Crane, Jan 11, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  7. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    Here is a zip file that includes all 4 versions in a single file including the textures already applied to them!!!


    Don't forget to move the one you use to 0,0,0 coordinates in the world in Unity.
     
  8. SnesySnas

    SnesySnas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!....only problem is i can't copy your FBX file on my computer and i can't acess the file from Blender
     
  9. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    it is a zip with an fbx in it. extract it and import it in Unity. Why blender? Poly count? Didn't check that.
    Did you download the .html link or klick on the upper right on the actual download button. Google drive sucks in generating links...
     
  10. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
  11. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    Even if you get it working, without DynamicBone it will not look well.
    EDIT: it opens fine in blender but it looks crappy and does not have textures. Polycount is fine for a direct import in unity!
     
  12. SnesySnas

    SnesySnas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think i've givven up at this point, i don't know what i'm doing at all, when i'm trying to extract the file from your zip it keeps giving me errors..ugh ima just find another model, thanks for trying to help
     
  13. Mr.Crane

    Mr.Crane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    59
    You're welcome. Just come back to the model if you acquired the necessary skills.
    BTW the file was packed using 7zip. It's free and you may need it to unzip it.